Rugby Universities

National Champion Gee-Gees pile up individual rugby awards

Breanna Phillipps.

Prior to her national championship victory, Alexandra Ondo of Gatineau was named as a First-Team U Sports All-Canadian. Her coach, Jen Boyd was one of the nominees as national coach of the year for women’s rugby. Fellow Gee-Gee Samantha Alli, of Caledon, was named to the U Sports Second-Team. The team produced a program-record 12 RSEQ major awards. Boyd was named the conference’s coach of the year for the 4th consecutive year. Lauren Minns won RSEQ rookie of the year. Named as OUA First-Team All-Stars were Ondo, Alli, Minns, Emily Babcock (Belleville), Dria Bennett (Ottawa), Bianca Pavement (Granby, Que.) and Breanna Phillips (Orleans). Taylor Donato (Ottawa), Emma Sandstrom (Ottawa) and Georgia Stewart (Douro-Dummer, Ont.) were named as OUA Second-Team All-Stars.

This story was made possible thanks to our advertising partners. We encourage you to support these groups who are dedicated to grassroots sport in our community!

Leave a Reply